Supreme Court of Texas Blog: Legal Issues Before the Texas Supreme Court

2010 Texas Supreme Court Candidate List

Check out our more current page about the status of the 2010 elections.

Justices of the Texas Supreme Court are elected in normal, partisan elections to six-year terms. This year’s Texas primary falls on March 2, 2010.

–This page will be expanded and updated as the election draws closer–

Place 3: (Retiring) Justice Harriet O’Neill

Justice O’Neill has announced that she will not be seeking reelection in 2010. The 2010 race for this seat will be a recent rarity on the Court — a truly open seat with no incumbent.

* Jeff Brown (R)
*Justice, 14th Court of Appeals*

* Rick Green (R)

* Debra Lehrmann (R)
*District Judge from Fort Worth*

* Jim Mosely (R)
*Justice, 5th Court of Appeals*

* Jim Sharp (D)
*Justice, 1st Court of Appeals*

* Rebecca Simmons (R)
*Justice, 4th Court of Appeals*

* Rick Strange (R)
*Justice, 11th Court of Appeals*

* William Strange (L) *Attorney*

Place 5: Justice Paul Green (elected 2004)

* Paul Green (R) *Incumbent*

* Bill Moody (D) *District Judge from El Paso*

* Tom Oxford (L) *Attorney*

Place 9: Justice Eva Guzman (appointed 2009, replacing Justice Brister)

* Jack Armstrong (L) *Attorney*

* Blake Bailey (D)

* Eva Guzman (R)

* Rose Vela (R)
*Justice, 13th Court of Appeals*